barCreated with sketchtool.
  Yusuf Pathan may challenge Adhir as TMC's results improve
Mar 11, 2024 12:43 pm

.Yusuf Pathan, 42, a former India cricketer known for his explosive batting and ability to win matches single-handedly, will try to upset Congress Lok Sabha leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury in the coming Lok Sabha elections. The Trinamool Congress (TMC) fielded Pathan against Adhir from Baharampur on Sunday, putting a tough test on the former cricketer, who helped India win the 2007 T20 World Cup and 2011 ODI World Cup and played for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL. Although the Congress has not announced its Bengal candidates, Chowdhury is anticipated to run again from Baharampur, a Congress bastion he has won since 1999.Born in Baroda to Gujarati Pathans in 1982, Pathan made his India debut in 2007 after his younger brother Irfan. India defeated Pakistan in the T20 World Cup final in Johannesburg, where he debuted. Pathan played for India's white-ball teams for four years after that win due to his big-hitting. He played 6 group stage matches for the 2011 World Cup-winning team. Pathan won two IPL titles with KKR after joining for Rs 9.66 million in 2011. He won three IPL titles, including one with Rajasthan Royals. He retired from all forms of cricket in 2021 after his last national team match in 2012. Irfan has been the most prominent of the siblings, despite being the more flashy. However, Yusuf prefers a quiet life and raises various animals and plants at his Vadodara farmhouse. Though Pathan's cricketing prowess may not convert into political success, the TMC will use his popularity to undermine the Congress control on Baharampur, a swing seat for Muslims. The TMC, which has never won Baharampur, reduced Adhir's vote share from 50.5% in 2014 to 45.4% in 2019 while increasing its vote share from 19.7% to 39.2%. Chowdhury won 80,696 votes, down from 3.56 lakh in 2014.The Assembly election results also show the Congress leader may face a struggle. All seven Baharampur Lok Sabha Assembly segments were won by the Congress in 2016. In the 2021 state elections, the BJP won Baharampur and the TMC six others. In these segments, Mamata's party won 50.1%, the BJP 31.6%, and the Congress 15.1%. It was a big change from 2016, when the Congress won these segments with 45.9% and the TMC 24.9%.