barCreated with sketchtool.
  'Nari Shakti', India's Military Might Displayed At Republic Day Parade
Jan 26, 2024 02:28 pm

 President Droupadi Murmu led the nation in celebrating the 75th Republic Day from Kartavya Path in Delhi this morning. French President Emmanuel Macron was the Chief Guest as India showcased its cultural diversity and military prowess. Based on the twin themes of 'Viksit Bharat' and 'Bharat - Loktantra Ki Matruka', this year's parade saw the participation of 13,000 special guests. For the first time, the parade was heralded by over 100 women artists playing Indian musical instruments like the shankh, naadswaram, and nagada. mIt was the first time an all-women tri-service contingent marched down Kartavya Path. Women pilots also enthralled the audience during the fly past, representing 'Nari Shakti', or 'women power'. The contingents of the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) also consisted of only women personnel. The Republic Day parade started at 10.30 am and ran for a duration of 120 minutes. Kartavya Path witnessed a march past by a combined band and marching contingent of the French armed forces. The 30-member band contingent was headed by Captain Khourda, which was followed by a 90-member marching contingent, led by Captain Noel. A multirole tanker aircraft and two Rafale fighter jets of the French Air and Space Force flew above the contingents. The first Indian Army contingent leading the mechanised column was of the 61 Cavalry, led by Major Yashdeep Ahlawat. Raised in 1953, the 61 Cavalry is the only serving active Horsed Cavalry Regiment in the world. The Indian Navy contingent consisted of 144 men and women Agniveers, led by Lt Prajwal M as Contingent Commander and Lt Mudita Goyal, Lt Sharvani Supreiya, and Lt Devika H as Platoon Commanders. It was followed by the naval tableau, depicting the themes 'Nari Shakti' and 'Sea Power Across the Oceans Through Indigenisation'. The Indian Air Force (IAF) comprised 144 airmen and four officers, led by Squadron Leader Rashmi Thakur. Squadron Leaders Sumita Yadav and Pratiti Ahluwalia, and Flight Lieutenant Kirti Rohil who marched past as supernumerary officers behind the Contingent Commander. Many critical systems and technologies developed by the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) were showcased during the parade. The DRDO tableau was based on the theme 'Women power in protecting the nation by providing the defence shield in all five dimensions, namely land, air, sea, cyber, and space'. The contingents of the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) and Delhi Police were led by women personnel. Border Security Force marching contingent was headed by Assistant Commandant Monika Lakra; Central Industrial Security Force by Assistant Commandant Tanmayee Mohanty; Central Reserve Police Force by Assistant Commandant Megha Nair; Indo-Tibetan Border Police by Assistant Commandant Moniya Sharma; Sashastra Seema Bal by Deputy Commandant Nancy Singla; and Delhi Police by Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police Shweta K Sugathan.