barCreated with sketchtool.
In Maharashtra, Prakash Ambedkar's VBA leaves the MVA and declares candidates from eight constituencies.
Mar 27, 2024 03:58 pm

Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA), led by Prakash Ambedkar, has stated that it will run alone in the 2018 Maharashtra Lok Sabha elections after leaving the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) alliance. The coalition's inability to reach an agreement on seat-sharing led to the decision.Eight constituencies have eight candidates announced by VBA. Candidates for the following seats have been announced: Rajendra Salunke for Wardha, Hitesh Madavi for Gadchiroli-Chimur, Vasant Magar for Buldhana, Kumari Pillewan for Amravati, Prakash Ambedkar for Akola, Sanjay Kewat for Bhandara-Gondiya, and Khemsing Pawar for Yavatmal-Washim. Reconciling Prakash Ambedkar's issues with the MVA allies, Congress, NCP (Sharadchandra Pawar), and Shiv Sena (UBT), proved impossible as Ambedkar voiced his displeasure with what he considered to be a "unequal attitude" towards his party. On March 23, Prakash Ambedkar said that the VBA and Shiv Sena (UBT) would no longer be in partnership, citing differences in the number of seats that his party had been officially offered. The Lok Sabha polls, which are scheduled to take place in five stages between April 19 and May 20, will have their vote tallying on June 4.