barCreated with sketchtool.
 Chairperson of Prasar Bharati to be appointed is ex-IAS Navneet Kumar Sehgal.
Mar 16, 2024 03:22 pm

The Prasar Bharati chairman selection panel is presided over by a three-member panel comprising the vice president, the head of the Press Council of India, and a presidential candidate. The Prasar Bharati Board has named retired bureaucrat Navneet Kumar Sehgal as its new chair. After A Surya Prakash, who resigned in February 2020 at the age of 70, the position had been unfilled for four years. The order from the ministry of information and broadcasting dated March 15 stated, "The President, on the recommendation of the selection committee, is pleased to appoint Shri Navneet Kumar Sehgal, IAS (retd) as the chairman of the Prasar Bharati Board with effect from the date of his assuming charge of the post for a term of three years or until he attains the age of seventy years, whichever is earlier."The nation's national broadcaster chairman will be chosen on Friday, under the direction of Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar. Sanjay Jaju, the information and broadcasting secretary, and retired judge Ranjana Desai, the chairperson of the Press Council of India, were present at the meeting.Sehgal, a former Uttar Pradesh cadre IAS officer from the 1988 batch, has a close relationship with UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. While holding the position of additional chief secretary for sports and youth in the UP government, he was heavily involved in the state's global investor summit and hosted the MotoGP race in Noida last year. After the Hathras rape case in 2020, Sehgal was assigned to supervise the information department. He was moved to the sports department in 2022. He had previously been the information secretary in the Mayawati-led administration from 2007 until 2012. During the 2013 Muzaffarnagar riots, Sehgal was named principal secretary in the Akhilesh Yadav-led administration and was also in charge of the Lucknow-Agra Expressway project. India's largest public broadcasting agency is called Prasar Bharati. The Prasar Bharati Act of 1990, which went into force in 1997, founded it. All India Radio and Doordarshan Television Network, which were formerly a part of the ministry of information and broadcasting, are included in the organization. PB-SHABD, a news-sharing service that allows registered companies to access news feeds from its network of reporters, was introduced by Prasar Bharati on March 13.